So… Now What?

Erin’s let me take over the blog for this week. I think partly because it’s a lot of work and I typically contribute 0% but mostly because my last day at work was Friday so I have a lot more time for the next week or so, but we’ll get to that.

I dug out my old camera and messed around with filters a little for this one.  Only a little however because Iris (who more or less taught me how to take decent pictures) says I use them too much.  Hopefully this amount is acceptable.

I dug out my old camera and messed around with filters a little for this one. Only a little however because Iris (who more or less taught me how to take decent pictures) says I use them too much. Hopefully this amount is acceptable.

First, the anniversary! On October 24th, we went to Canmore to celebrate six years since I managed to convince my lovely wife that it was a good idea to marry me. Great move on my part. I am pretty sure she could have done better, but she doesn’t seem to think so. God bless her for slumming a little. We spent the day and night in Canmore and discovered Geo-Caching. Basically it’s a community of people who hide small containers of trinkets (think Kinder Surprise caliber treasures) and leave either written directions or GPS co-ordinates to their locations. It was actually pretty fun although Erin is convinced my secret motivation was to trick her into hiking.

The following week was Halloween. Not much to report on that front. We got to decorate the house and picked up a box of candy in case any trick-or-treaters wandered out our way. They didn’t and we learned that chocolate bars and vodka, while delicious at the time, is really more of a special occasion dinner.

20151031_173243

Maury the Zombie.  Thanks to my sister and her husband for our most impressive Halloween decoration.

Maury the Zombie. Thanks to my sister and her husband for our most impressive Halloween decoration.

I was trying to go for crazy eyes, but I think it just turned out to be suggestive eyebrows.  Do NOT let somebody with this expression buy you a drink.

I was trying to go for crazy eyes, but I think it just turned out to be suggestive eyebrows. Do NOT let somebody with this expression buy you a drink.

Hedwig.  Because what else would you name him?

Hedwig. Because what else would you name him?

Wait-  Do most people not name their Halloween decorations?  Is that weird?

Wait- Do most people not name their Halloween decorations? Is that weird?

20151026_185355 20151026_185251

I am 31 years old and as a grown-ass man, I still turn this picture around when I go to bed because it is terrifying.

I am 31 years old and as a grown-ass man, I still turn this picture around when I go to bed because it is terrifying.

Motorized bat chandelier hanging over the kitchen table.  Sam does not love it.

Motorized bat chandelier hanging over the kitchen table. Sam does not love it.

20151026_185133

As far as house improvements, we only really made minor changes the last few weeks. Knobs on the cupboards, finally got a towel rack, picked up a kitchen sink. It’s nice in the sense that it’s an indication our $500 plus trips to Home Depot will be dropping off, but it also presents a new challenge;

We have spent the past two years planning, designing and building this place and it’s basically finished. So what the hell do we do now?

As I mentioned earlier, I left the job I’d been working with PCS in Calgary. It was a great experience and you couldn’t ask for better people to work with but the commute was getting to be a killer and when it boils down to it, we didn’t build a farm near Nanton to drive to Calgary every day and work construction. So I found a new gig in town that starts November 16th, leaving this coming week to put some final touches on the house that we’d been able to ignore to this point because from the couch, we can’t actually see any of them and the house looks complete.

We won’t be able to get into any of the more “farm-ey” projects we wanted to start because winter will be here soon (and honestly I think I heard my debit card let out a little sob the last time I used it, so it’s probably a good idea to let the old bank account cool off a bit) so we were again faced with the question of what to focus our energy towards.

Well after racking our brains about it pretty steadily for the past two weeks, I think we have the bones of a really good winter project. Once we flesh out the details, we’ll be promoting it shamelessly on here and on Facebook so for the five or six people who read these posts and don’t skip right to the pictures, get ready to… I guess, become people who skip right to the pictures.

The face all of you will make after the 737th time reading about our new idea.

The face all of you will make after the 737th time reading about our new idea.

That’s all for now. Hope you are living your lives happily, peacefully and deliberately. I wish you all the best until the next time Erin tells me it’s my turn to write the blog!

One thought on “So… Now What?

  1. Hey Mike,
    Happy (belated) Anniversary to you and Erin! I remember dancing with my husband (Orvel) at your wedding! It was a fun time for sure.
    I’m glad you’re going to be working closer to home – that commute would be very tough and with winter coming it’s likely to be dangerous too.
    Loved your Halloween decorations – we also never have any Trick or Treaters and have stopped decorating. Used to have a blast when we were in the city with loads of kids coming and scary decorations, music, and lighting waiting for them! Alas, we didn’t name any of our decorations – but it’s a good idea when they have such character!
    I enjoy your Blog!! Will be reading (not just looking at the pictures ’cause I’m a keener!) about your new project!!!
    Bye for now,
    Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

